Celebration of Civic Spirit

Celebration of Civic Spirit

More than 300 philanthropists and community advocates gathered at The Community Foundation for the National Capital Region's Celebration of Civic Spirit Gala held on Thursday, December 8 at the Ritz-Carlton in Washington, DC.

This year's Civic Spirit Award honors Vicki and Roger Sant who, through their philanthropic leadership and generosity, have created lasting improvements to our community through their Summit Foundation and Summit Fund.

Other honorees included the recipients of the distinguished Linowes Leadership Awards including Lidya Abune, Julia Irving, Catalina Sol, and Maceo Thomas. These "unsung heroes" received the award for their efforts to improve communities throughout the Washington Metropolitan region and for encouraging others to do the same.

Proceeds from this year's event benefit The Community Foundation's work to make the Washington region a community where equity, access, and opportunity are available to all.


Celebration of Civic Spirit

Pictured from left to right: Terri Lee Freeman, President, The Community Foundation National Capital Region; Vicki and Roger Sant, Civic Spirit Award honorees and, David M. Bradt, Jr., Board Chair, The Community Foundation National Capital Region.

Celebration of Civic Spirit

Pictured from left to right: Lydia Abune*, Student Advocate for Language Access, Coolidge Senior High School; Catalina Sol*, Chief Program Officer and HIV/AIDS Advocate and Champion, La Clinica del Pueblo; Ada Linowes; Terri Lee Freeman, President, The Community Foundation National Capital Region; Julia Irving*, Community Liaison and Outreach Coordinator, Metropolitan Police Department of the District of Columbia, Sixth District and, Maceo Thomas*, Ward 7 Community Activist and Resident. *Recipients of the Linowes Leadership Awards

Our Supporters of Civic Spirit

The Community Foundation is grateful to the following individuals, foundations and corporations who have helped make this evening possible.

Benefactor Patron
Don Graham
Kaiser Permanente
J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott Foundation


The Anthony, McLaughlin & Offen Group
of Morgan Stanley Smith Barney
David Bradt and Diane Tipton
Brown Advisory
Freddie Mac
Horning Family Fund
Charito and William Kruvant
Kristin and David Steinberg Foundation
The Summit Fund of Washington
Vradenburg Foundation
The Washington Post

Doug and Lorraine Bibby
Katherine and David Bradley
Virginia Cheung and Jeff Neeley
Naomi and Nehemiah Cohen Foundation
April and John Delaney
Lawrence Hough
M&T Bank
MVM Inc.
Eugene and Agnes E. Meyer Foundation
National Capital Bank Fund
Dick and Katie Snowdon
Ken and Linda Thornton
Trinity Washington University
Sally and Tom Troyer
Wells Fargo
Sponsor Partner
Annie E. Casey Foundation
Bank of America
Diane and Norman Bernstein
Capital One
CareFirst BlueCross BlueShield
Creative Associates International
Boisfeuillet and Barbara Jones
Robert and Arlene Kogod
Ada H. Linowes
Joan and David Maxwell
The Reuben Family Foundation, Inc.
Gene and Lauren Sachs Family Fund
Washington Gas
Lori and Martin Weinstein
Carol Thompson Cole and Curtis Cole, Jr.
Lois and Rick England
Nancy G. Fax, Esquire
The Global Fund for Children
Marianne Keler and Michael Kershow
Nancy and Jorge Kfoury
Austin Kiplinger and Bonnie Nicholson
Lichtenberg Family Foundation
Daniel and Karen Mayers
Mary Malgoire and Beatrice Birman Fund
Metropolitan Washington Bankers Group
National Geographic
Alex Orfinger
PNC Bank
Carol and David Pensky
Jeffrey J. Schragg, Argy, Wiltse & Robinson
Lester Silverman and Patty Abramson
Pete Smith and Marcia Marsh
Trust for the National Mall
Joyce Payne Yette
Leo and Judith Zickler