Our Event Co-Chairs

Debra A. Mahone, Ed.D
Civic Leader

Veronica Jeon
Founder & CEO, V.Agency, Inc.

Our 2018 Honorees


Timothy Adams and Hon. Sheila R. Tillerson Adams

Public and Civic Leaders

Timothy J. Adams and the Honorable Sheila R. Tillerson Adams are a couple whose love of Prince George’s County is boundless. Timothy (Tim) is President and CEO of Systems Application & Technologies, Inc. (SA-TECH), a progressive and steadily growing professional services firm with origins in the high technology and technical support areas of the defense industry. Judge Sheila R. Tillerson Adams serves on the 7th Judicial Circuit Court. She has been a trailblazer among African-American women, especially in Prince George’s County. She was the first to serve as deputy county attorney and the first to be named to the District Court for Prince George’s County. Considered as one of Prince George’s County’s “power couples”, the Adams share a deep commitment to community service and philanthropy. Thankful for the advisors and mentors from whom they have benefited throughout their careers, the Adams have generously returned that assistance by giving of their time, talents and financial support to a variety of business and community organizations that touch the lives of people in Prince George’s County and around the country.


Tracye Funn


Tracye Funn began her career at Washington Gas in 1988. She serves as Manager of Corporate Contributions and Supplier Diversity, responsible for identifying and analyzing national, regional and local corporate social responsibility trends impacting the natural gas industry. She is responsible for management, oversight and distribution of funding to nonprofits in Prince George’s County and the DC metro area, resulting in over $12 million in contributions since she assumed this position. Funn has received awards from America’s Charities for achieving a record-breaking 40% increase in pledge donations and was recognized as “50 Who’s Who” in Prince George’s by the Prince George’s Suite Magazine. Funn credits her philanthropy to her parents – the late Joan and Carlton Funn, both educators who taught for 101 years combined throughout the region. This inspired Funn to create the Joan Funn scholarship – granting funds to collegians who opt to major in Early Education. She strives to pass this passion philosophy on to her beloved son Earl Carter, Jr., a fourth generation college graduate. Funn lives by the scripture Proverbs 3:5-6.


Rev. Dr. Jonathan L. Weaver

Pastor, Greater Mt. Nebo AME Church

Reverend Dr. Jonathan Leslie Weaver accepted his appointment to Greater Mt. Nebo AME Church in April 1988. Since then the Greater Mt. Nebo Family has approximately 50 ministries that serve the church and the greater community. Dr. Weaver has a strong belief that one's Christian duty should encompass community outreach. He is the recipient of numerous awards, most recently the 2015 Legacy Award from The Association of the Study of African American Life and History. Dr. Weaver currently serves as the National President of the Collective Empowerment Group, formerly known as The Collective Banking Group – an ecumenical association composed of churches engaged in economic empowerment initiatives – and as Chairman of the Board of Industrial Bank, one of the oldest minority-owned banks in America. Additionally, Dr. Weaver is a member of the Board of Directors of the Second District Religious, Educational and Charitable Development Projects, an AME organization fostering the development of nonprofit programs and projects for spiritual, educational, social and economic growth and development.


Hon. Dorothy F. Bailey

Public and Civic Leader

Dorothy F. Bailey has served the people of Prince George’s County for over 2 decades. She has served Vice Chair on the Prince George's County Planning Board since June 2011. In December 1994, Ms. Bailey was elected to represent the Seventh District on the Prince George's County Council. Ms. Bailey served two terms as Council Chair, and three terms as Vice Chair, where she presided over matters related to land use planning and participated in key decisions affecting development policy. Prior to her election to the Council, Ms. Bailey served as a senior-level official at several agencies, including Executive Director of the Consumer Protection Commission, the Commission for Families, and Community Partnerships Director at the Department of Family Services. Ms. Bailey is active in numerous local, regional and national organizations. She was named by Washingtonian Magazine as “one of the region’s most powerful women” during her first term on the Prince George’s County Council, and in 2014, was inducted into the Maryland Women's Hall of Fame.


Hon. Albert Turner

CEO, Carrollton Enterprises

Albert W. Turner, a Hyattsville native, built his first single-family homes before serving in WWII with the Navy Seabees. He returned home and continued building homes in Montgomery and Prince George's Counties, ultimately creating MCD Enterprises in 1949 (now Carrollton Enterprises) to develop premier residential communities, such as North College Park, The City of New Carrollton, Kettering, and Calverton. Albert Turner is a leader in community development, advancing a vision of planned communities with supportive retail and recreational spaces. His commitment to "Livable Communities" is demonstrated by his support of community organizations and several board appointments, including serving as the first Mayor of The City of New Carrollton, member of the Board of Directors for Citizens Bank of Maryland (now SunTrust Bank), Prince George’s County Tourism Council, Suburban Maryland and Washington Metropolitan Homebuilders Associations, Hyattsville Lions Club, Maryland Higher Education Commission, the University of Maryland Board of Regents, and Prince George’s County United Way.