The Resilience Fund was created in early 2017 as a collaborative partnership of the Greater Washington Community Foundation, the Eugene and Agnes E. Meyer Foundation, and other foundation and individual contributors. It supports the critical needs of nonprofits who are responding to changes in federal policy and budget priorities, as well as the climate of intolerance and hate, both of which are disproportionately impacting people of color, and immigrant and refugee communities. To date, we have raised and leveraged more than $1 million and made emergency grants to organizations working in the areas of immigrant rights, grassroots community engagement, and anti-bullying and anti-bigotry.

Initially, the Fund was focused on changes in international travel, immigration, and deportation policies which impact thousands of residents and families in the Greater Washington region. Our second round of grants supported broader efforts across the region to address the climate of hate and intolerance, and the uptick in violent incidents linked to race, religion, national origin, and other differences. And our most recent grants supported local organizations working to assist with reuniting families separated at the border and to safeguard the civil rights of immigrant children detained in Maryland and Virginia. 

Donors may contribute to the Fund and join with others who seek to ensure our region’s communities are resilient and supported in spite of federal policy shifts. Individuals or organizations which contribute $50,000 or more to the Fund are eligible to serve on the Steering Committee that advises on grant decisions and future Fund priorities. 


Tonia Wellons
Vice President for Community Investment
(202) 263-4762

Thank you on behalf of the Resilience Fund Steering Committee:

Greater Washington Community Foundation
Eugene and Agnes E. Meyer Foundation
Harman Family Foundation
The Morris and Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation
June Linowitz
Elaine Reuben
Rob and Sheri Rosenfeld
Mauri Ziff and Jeff Hamond

Fill out my online form.