OUR STAFF

President's Office

The President’s Office provides overall leadership and strategic direction for the Greater Washington Community Foundation. 

Bruce McNamer
President and CEO

202-955-5890

Ayann Johnson Bailey
Special Assistant to the CEO and Office Manager
202-263-4783


Community Investment

The Community Investment team focuses on The Community Foundation’s three community leadership priorities: education, workforce development, and safety net services. The Foundation launches initiatives and carries out responsive grantmaking to address challenges and respond to the pressing needs of our community. Our Community Investment team, experts in grantmaking and local issues, are highly knowledgeable about these issues and the most effective nonprofit organizations in the Washington metropolitan area working to affect positive change.

Tonia Wellons
Vice President, Community Investment

202-263-4762
twellons@thecommunityfoundation.org

Benton Murphy
Senior Director, Community Investment

202-263-4765
bmurphy@thecommunityfoundation.org

Melen Hagos
Community Investment Associate

202-955-5890
mhagos@thecommunityfoundation.org

Silvana Straw
Senior Community Investment Officer and Philanthropic Advisor

202-263-4775
sstraw@thecommunityfoundation.org

Dawnn Leary
Senior Community Investment Officer
202-973-2519
dleary@thecommunityfoundation.org

Jen Crino
Fellow for Community Investment

202-973-2503
jcrino@thecommunityfoundation.org

Alicia Reid
Community Investment Officer

202-263-4774
areid@thecommunityfoundation.org

Manon Matchett
Community Investment Officer

202-303-2430
mmatchett@thecommunityfoundation.org

Kayla Good
Philanthropy Fellow
202-955-5890 x 165
kgood@thecommunityfoundation.org


Development

The Development team leads the Greater Washington Community Foundation's outreach to professional advisors, private foundations, and business leaders in the region. They provide strategic guidance on contributing closely-held, complex, or illiquid assets and on charitable legacy planning. They also staff the Professional Advisors Council and Young Professional Advisors Committee. 

Rebecca Rothey, CFRE, CAP®
Vice President, Development and Senior Philanthropic Advisor

202-263-4766
rrothey@thecommunityfoundation.org

Emily Davis
Donor Services Associate

202-973-2501
edavis@thecommunityfoundation.org

Angela Willingham, CFRE
Associate VP, Development

202-263-4763
awillingham@thecommunityfoundation.org

Joanne Pipkin, CAP®
Director of Development

202-263-4781
jpipkin@thecommunityfoundation.org

Brittany Owens
Community Fellow
202-955-5890 x 205
bowens@thecommunityfoundation.org


Finance and Accounting

The Finance and Accounting team uses strategy and experience to responsibly steward The Foundation’s assets. Our finance team also disperses funds and financial reports to donors, advisors, partners, and grantees. With more than 30 years of proven experience in sound financial stewardship, our expertise enables you to make the most of your investment. We manage all donor funds according to the highest standards of accountability. An annual audit is conducted and an additional independent committee of professionals reviews the results. At the end of each fiscal quarter, donors receive a financial report on the investment returns and grantmaking activity of their fund.

Shannon Scott
Chief Financial Officer

202-263-4777
sscott@thecommunityfoundation.org


Philanthropic Engagement

Our Philanthropic Engagement team helps donors who have funds with The Community Foundation to fulfill their philanthropic visions. We provide customized services to help you discern your philanthropic values and dreams, involving your families and professional advisors if you so choose, to connect you with effective nonprofit organizations, and to ensure that your grant recommendations are processed efficiently.  We offer opportunities to connect with other donors through our Sharing program, annual galas, and other initiatives that maximize the collective impact of our community of givers. Our Marketing team ensures The Community Foundation clearly and effectively communicates its activities and impact, and is responsible for providing the strategic vision and supporting the tactical implementation of all external and internal communications and marketing functions across the organization.

District of Columbia

Amina Anderson
Director, DC Office of Philanthropy and Donor Services
202-303-2440
aanderson@thecommunityfoundation.org

Gisela Shanfeld
Donor Services Associate

202-263-4779
gshanfeld@thecommunityfoundation.org

Sylvia Umegbolu
Graduate Fellow
202-263-4791
sumegbolu@thecommunityfoundation.org

Montgomery County

Anna Hargrave
Executive Director
301-495-3036 x 161
ahargrave@thecommunityfoundation.org

Kevin Donnelly
Donor Services Associate

301-495-3036 x 162
kdonnelly@thecommunityfoundation.org

Joury Bell
Philanthropy Fellow
301-495-3036 x 160
jbell@thecommunityfoundation.org

Prince George’s County & NORTHERN VIRGINIA

Desiree Griffin-Moore
Executive Director

301-918-8480 x 163
dgriffin@thecommunityfoundation.org

Philecia McCain
Donor Services Officer
301-918-8480 x 168
pmccain@thecommunityfoundation.org

Elizabeth McCreary
301-918-8480 x 164 emccreary@thecommunityfoundation.org

Communications & MARKETING

Danielle Yates
Senior Director, Marketing & Communications

202-973-2513
dyates@thecommunityfoundation.org

Jenny Peña O'Donnell
Fellow
202-955-5890 x 133
jodonnell@thecommunityfoundation.org