2019 Celebration Banner.jpg


March 25, 2019  
6:00-9:00 P.M.


Arena Stage at the Mead Center for American Theater

About the Celebration of Philanthropy

You’re invited to the largest annual celebration of local philanthropy in our region. Join us to celebrate what makes our community truly remarkable—the individuals and organizations who dedicate their time and resources to public service, philanthropy, and nonprofits to drive the area’s tremendous giving spirit and make our region a more vibrant, equitable and inclusive place to live.

At the Celebration, we will present the 2019 Civic Spirit Award to former Mayor Anthony Williams. Anthony Williams is a long-time champion for a thriving DC, having served the city as CFO and Mayor, and now as CEO of the Federal City Council.

Attending the Celebration of Philanthropy is an experience unlike any other! You’ll take part in a cocktail reception and community festival featuring live music, theater, poetry, and dance performances from some of the region's most exciting nonprofits and local artists who are supported by The Community Foundation and our community of givers. These showcases are staggered throughout the evening, allowing you to choose from a line-up of incredible acts while enjoying delicious food, an open bar, and networking. 

Host Committee Co-Chairs

Host Committee

David Bradt

Katharine Weymouth

Host Committee Vice Chairs

Lia Dean

Alex Orfinger

Gene Sachs

David Shiffrin

Dick Snowdon

Cathy Sulzberger

Bill Taylor

Kathleen Biden

Molly Elkin and Ivan Wasserman

Don Graham and Amanda Bennett

Mary and Robert Haft

Denielle and Gregory Heard

Steve and Joslyn Hills

Sandra and Tom McCoy

Trip McLaughlin

Carol Melton and Joe Hassett

Laura and Tim O’Shaughnessy

Rachel Pearson

Estee and Elliott Portnoy

Linda Rabbitt

Margarita Raygada and Hakan Ilhan

Alison and John Shulman

Julia and Victor Tolkan

many thanks to our sponsors!



Nancy and Jorge Kfoury Foundation


Henry Darren and Mary Pat Alcus

Lia Dean

Neal and Jennifer Simon


David Bradt and Diane Tipton

Richard Bynum and PNC Bank

Capital One

CareFirst BlueCross BlueShield

Kenny Emson

Donald Graham and Amanda Bennett

Horning Brothers

Charito Kruvant

Bruce McNamer

David and Peggy Shiffrin

Cathy Sulzberger and Joe Perpich

Katharine Weymouth

Bill Taylor


Siobhan Doherty

Joe and Lynne Horning

Frank and Nancy Parsons Foundation Fund

Prince George’s Community College



Sandra and Tom McCoy

Carol Melton and Joe Hassett

Washington Gas


Morris and Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation

Dr. Charlene Dukes

Richard and Nicole Dumais

Estee and Elliott Portnoy

Media Partner